How to make a motion graphic video

One of the first projects I worked on for my blog was creating a motion graphic video. I wanted to show my skills in both Photoshop and Premier Pro and I felt this could done effectively through making a video which I would then upload to YouTube. I wanted the video to advertise my own brand as every piece of digital media should have informative graphics or illustration on it. By doing this I would gain experience in digital media production. I began by assembling the image I wanted in Photoshop and then animating the images in Premier Pro. In this blog post I will be showing the step by step process of how I created the motion graphic and how I then went on the upload the content onto my blog.

Part 1

Inserting the image

I started by selecting a background image of my choice and inserting it into Photoshop. You can do this by selecting ‘file’, ‘open’ and selecting the saved image of your choice.

Inserting text

I then went on to insert text onto the image across the top of the page. To do this select the ‘T’ icon on the left side bar and type your chosen text.

You can change the font and size of the text by clicking on the tool box that appears at the top of the screen. For my text I chose to Trajan Pro Bold font in the size 88. I felt this font best represented my brand and that this size was big enough to stand out on the page without being too much. I also changed the colour of the text to white as I wanted the text to be bold on the page.

Inserting an outer stroke

As I felt the text was still not bold enough, I decided to add a black outer stroke to the text to make it stand out more. To do this I selected the effects or ‘fx’ icon and clicked on ‘stroke’. From here you can select the size and colour of the stroke and whether you would like it to be inside or outside of the text.

Inserting sub text

I then went on to include a sub heading on the bottom right side of the page. Once again I selected the ‘T’ icon and changed the font and size of the text. This time I used Source Sans Pro Light font in size 66. I also decided to leave the text black, as I didn’t feel this needed to be as bold as the main title.

However to make the text more visible I added a small white outer stroke to the text, which stopped the text blending into the background image.

Using the brush tool

For my motion graphic video I wanted to have sparks of electricity running through the bulb before having my details appear on the screen. To create this electric look I used the brush tool on the left hand side bar and drew a wavy line that looked like an electric spark. To do this I selected a small brush tool and a white colour to draw in.

Top tip: There are a variety of different brush styles you can choose from. You don’t need to use a standard brush, why not try out a different shape or design to be more creative with your project.

Insert outer glow

To make the lightning appear less flat and 2D on the page, I decided to give the lightning strike a yellow outer glow to make it stand out more. I decided to increase the size of the outer glow to ‘7’, as I felt this looked the most realistic without becoming ridiculous and spreading out all over the page.

Using a different brush

I then did the same thing on the right side and used the brush tool to create a wavy line. However, I also decided to experiment with a different type of brush to see what the effect would be. This time I used a ‘spatter brush’ to try and create the effect of sparks leaving the lightning strike. Personally I don’t love the overall finish of the brush but I’m glad I experimented with it.

I then went on to once again add an outer glow to the lightning strike to create a more 3D effect.

Inserting smaller brush lines

Finally I added multiple smaller lines around the electric sparks to make them have more of a lightning feel. To do this I simply used the brush tool and made my brush tiny so the lines were faint.

Part 2

Once you have successfully created your composite image, you will need to save each section separately in order to move on to the next step of the process. To do this simply hide all the layers apart from one each time. This can be done by clicking on the small eye icons on the right side of the screen next to the various layers you have created. When one layer is selected save it separately to the composite image. Do this for all your layers.

Inserting into Premier Pro

Open Premier Pro and insert all the separately saved layers into the programme. To do this double click on the large box in the bottom left hand corner. A file browser will appear and you can select all the separate layers you wish to include into your motion graphic.

Drag the layers into the timeline

You will then need to drag the layers onto the timeline into different tracks so multiple clips can be played at the same. As you can see, I decided to have my background image to be the first clip so that track is the longest as it stays on for the whole of the motion graphic. To increase the length of a layer simply hover the cruiser over the end of the layer, click once and drag outwards until you are happy with the length.

When adding other layers into different tracks you can have them anywhere along the timeline. I decided to have my lightning strike four times before having my titles appear on the screen. Just simply continue to drag over the layer as many times as you wish until you are happy.

Experimenting with effect controls

Once all of your clips have been placed in the timeline you can experiment with the effect controls. Select the track you want to edit and click ‘effect controls’ in the top left hand corner. Here you can experiment with various transformations to improve your motion graphic. For my motion graphic I decided to experiment with the ‘video effects’ and I edited the ‘scale’ of the clip so the title would enlarge when entering the screen.

Using key frames

To do this I had to insert key frames. I added my first key frame at 0 which was at the beginning of the clip. I then added another one a few seconds later and increased the size of the title to ‘117’. This then made the title gradually increase in size when entering the screen.

If you want to find out more about how to use Premier Pro and how to edit clips click here!

Exporting

After you are happy with your video, it’s time to export. To do this click ‘file’, ‘export’, ‘media’ and this selection box will appear. You want the format of the video to be an AVI. Then simply click export and chose where you would like you motion graphic to be saved.

If you aren’t good with organisation and don’t have a good folder structure read my ‘How to create an effective folder structure’ blog to help you out.

Part 3

Once this is complete you are then able to upload the video to YouTube. For this part you will need a YouTube account.

Uploading to YouTube

Once you are on your YouTube account select ‘upload’ and this page will appear.

Select your file

Double click on the ‘select files to upload’ and select your motion graphic.

Uploading

You can then name your motion graphic and add a description of your choice. Also it’s good to choose a thumbnail for the advertising image of the video-make it a good one! When your happy upload! When looking at the uploaded video click on the share button and copy the embed code.

Make a new post

You are now ready to upload your motion graphic to your WordPress site. Log in and click ‘add’ new blog post.

HTML

Name your post and select the HTML button and paste the embed code. Press publish and your good to go!

Final Post

 

Leave a Reply

